Reviews

ABH x Nicole Guerriero Glow Kit REVIEW w/ Swatches!

Alright, here’s the thing, when I first found out that Nicole was doing a collab with ABH I died. Then when I found out it was a glow kit I was revived. Then when I finally saw the shades I died again. This is all obviously an exaggeration but it’s Nicole and highlighters, ya feel me?

I knew I had to get my hands on this so I ordered it during the 48 hour Sephora App pre-sale Sunday. Sephora Canada seems to always get shafted with product releases, things either go up hours or even days later than the American Sephora site so to my surprise this palette went up exactly when it was supposed to have. So I scooped this bad boy up faster than a baby cheetah at supper time.

I ordered the palette and waited the agonizing 2-5 business days for it to arrive, I was thiiiiis close to parking myself in front of my door to wait for the CP Delivery guy all day when I saw ‘out for delivery’ on the tracking site. I demolished the box to get at the palette and then I sat at my kitchen table and marveled at it for like ten whole minutes.

dsc03000

 

capture
This was me when I first held it in my hand (I didn’t actually lick it, ya weirdos) Picture was taken off of the internet.

SWATCH NATION:

Now, I know I’m pretty light in the skin department, so I’ve inserted links to swatches on skin tones that are darker than mine here: Exhibit A and Exhibit B

 

DOLLAR BREAKDOWN:

abhxnicoleglowkitcomp

So, basically, as you can see this Glow Kit is reasonably priced, at least it is in my opinion. You’re getting smaller, but still decent sized pans of product and you get a variety of different shades. Now, for the most part if you’re very pale or of a deep complexion there is probably going to be at least 1 or more shade in here that you can’t use as a highlight but don’t let that deter you from the price because those ones you can’t use as highlights can always be used on the eyes. Multi-tasking products are the best kind of products.

VS. OTHER ABH GLOW KITS:

Packaging wise this palette is identical to other Glow Kit’s ABH put out (Gleam and That Glow) Except for the fact that the Nicole one, since it has 2 more shades in it, is more rectangular than square. The previous Glow Kits that are now discontinued due to them being limited edition did feature removable pans, whereas the Nicole one does not.

At the very first touch the highlights feel, in my opinion, almost nothing alike. The Nicole powders feel much softer and more smooth than the powders in That Glow and Gleam. I do find that the Nicole shades are much more intense, in your face pigmented highlights as opposed to the slightly more subtle options with the other Glow Kits.

All three are cruelty-free, but only the Nicole one is Vegan.

INGREDIENTS:

Nicole Glow Kit Ingredients:

Kitty Kat, Daydream, Forever Young- Octyldodecanol, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Talc, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Boron Nitride, Calcium Titanium Borosilicate, Synthetic Wax, Caprylyl Glycol, Dimethicone, Ethylhexylglycerin, Magnesium Myristate, Methicone, Polybutene, Silica, Tin Oxide, May Contain: (+/-) Mica, Red 40 Lake (Ci 16035), Iron Oxides (Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

Forever Lit- Octyldodecanol, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Talc, Calcium Titanium Borosilicate, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Boron Nitride, Synthetic Wax, Caprylyl Glycol, Dimethicone, Ethylhexylglycerin, Magnesium Myristate, Methicone, Polybutene, Silica, Tin Oxide, May Contain: (+/-) Mica, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

Glo Getter- Octyldodecanol, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Talc, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Calcium Titanium Borosilicate, Boron Nitride, Synthetic Wax, Caprylyl Glycol, Dimethicone, Ethylhexylglycerin, Magnesium Myristate, Methicone, Polybutene, Silica, Tin Oxide, May Contain: (+/-) Mica, Red 40 Lake (Ci 16035), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

143- Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Octyldodecanol, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Talc, Boron Nitride, Calcium Titanium Borosilicate, Synthetic Wax, Polybutene, Caprylyl Glycol, Dimethicone, Ethylhexylglycerin, Magnesium Myristate, Methicone, Silica, Tin Oxide, May Contain: (+/-) Mica, Red 40 Lake (Ci 16035), Iron Oxide (Ci 77491), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891).

MY PSYCHOBABBLE:

Performance:  9/10

Shade Selection:  7.5/10

Packaging: 9/10

Product: 25.5/30

Let’s break down the packaging: It’s baby pink and sparkly so you know that speaks directly to my soul. It’s made out of cardboard but it’s sturdy with a magnetic close, you can’t take the pans out without ruining the packaging, and there is no mirror so those might be cons for someone.

Personally, I would prefer removable pans (for the convenience, travel and because some shades that I know I can’t wear myself would look amazing on clients) but I actually love that there is no mirror, I know it’s probably a v unpopular opinion but mirrors weigh a palette down, they’re often not very good and do you really need another palette with a mirror in it?

Performance: Alright… here’s where I have to admit I was a little surprised. When swatched these highlights are freakin’ GORGEOUS. However, when I applied them to my face I found some of them really brought out the texture in my skin (and I don’t even really have a lot of texture to begin with), and quite glittery. If that’s not your thing I would stay away from this palette, frankly. I also found Forever Lit and Kitty Kat to be a little chalky, not terribly so, but just enough that I noticed it.

The shades are beautiful, but for myself personally I wish, and probably would love this palette a little more, that there was even just one less peachy-pink shade. On me pretty much all but Forever Lit pulled very warm and peachy-pink, which kind of sucks.

The actual powders themselves are very nice feeling; they’re smooth and an absolute dream to blend. Five of them are intensely pigmented but I found Forever Lit to be a little disappointing in terms of not being as crazy intense as the other shades.

I don’t know, I was super pumped for this palette just looking at it but I found after swatching that I was a tad underwhelmed (maybe it’s just the amount of peachy-pink shades in one single palette that’s throwing me off). Just trying to be honest with y’all.

Honestly, I really don’t know about this. I’m just not sure if I can justify spending $52 for a palette that just doesn’t work for me in a majority. Now, don’t get me wrong there are people who will love this. If you’re more medium toned I think this palette will be BEAUTIFUL on you. I’m just not sure this was the right palette for my skin tone.

My biggest recommendation would be to check this out in stores if you’re unsure. Especially if you’re very deep toned, or if you’re paler than I am/fall in the fair region because this likely won’t work that well for you as strictly highlights but if you’re creative you’ll find amazing ways to use it! (and they will be amazing)

All in all… I’m not disappointed but I’m not throw-myself-on-the-floor-and-profess-my-undying-love in love with it. I’m just… on about a 7.8 in a scale of 10.

Before I end this review I just gotta say, Nicole, girl congrats on a beautiful collab (I just wish it worked better for me)

hero_gatsbywide_-_Copy.png

 

Leave a Reply

